Emotional balance  |  Vitality  |  Stamina  |  Endurance  |  Energy  |  Intensity  |  Hardiness  |  Nurturance  |  Generosity  |  Liveliness  |  Kindness  |  Charity  |  Friendliness

A natural form of silicon dioxide, Chalcedony is a cryptocrystalline variety of Quartz.

Chakras - Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra

Zodiac - Cancer, Virgo, Sagittarius, Aquarius

Typical colours - white to grey, greyish-blue, or brown ranging from pale to nearly black.  Chalcedony has a waxy lustre, and may be semitransparent or translucent.

Chalcedony is a nurturing stone that promotes brotherhood and good will.  It absorbs negative energy.  It brings the mind, body, emotions and spirit into harmony.  Chalcedony instills feelings of benevolence and generosity.  It alleviates hostility and transforms melancholy into joy.  Eases self-doubt.  Creates openness and enthusiasm.  Absorbs and dissipates negative thoughts, emotions and bad dreams.

Chalcedony improves mineral assimilation and combats mineral buildup in veins.  Lessens the effects of dementia and senility.  It increases physical energy.  Heals the eyes, gallbladder, bones, spleen, blood and circulatory system.

In addition to the generic healing properties of Chalcedony, specific colours have additional attributes:

Blue Chalcedony

Chakras - Throat Chakra

Planet - Moon

Element - Water

A creative stone, Blue Chalcedony imparts mental flexibility and verbal dexterity.  It stimulates the ability to learn new languages and improves memory.  Gives feelings of light-heartedness and optimism.  Improves self-perception.  Aids regeneration of mucus membranes.  Enhances the immune system.  Blue Chalcedony has an anti-inflammatory effect and lowers temperature and blood pressure.  Heals the lungs and clears the respiratory system of the effects of smoking.

Concentrically banded varieties of Chalcedony are known as Agate.  Flat layered / banded varieties of Chalcedony are known as Onyx.  Different varieties of Chalcedony include:

  • Agate

  • Bloodstone

  • Blue Lace Agate

  • Botswana Agate

  • Carnelian

  • Chrysoprase

  • Dendritic Agate

  • Jasper

  • Mookaite

  • Moss Agate

  • Onyx

  • Petrified Wood

  • Sardonyx

  • Tiger Eye